Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2012, 02:55 PM   #1
cj
Lieutenant
 
cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 53
Default Inverter/Charger install

Hello all, I just purchased an inverter charger to replace the charger only in my 2400scr. I am unsure where the AC line back from the inverter to the main panel gets wired to?.....the main 30amp breakers or just to the circuit breakers I want powered...ie the receptacles and microwave.....also, I want to make sure that I am only pulling power from the "house" batts when powering, but want the charger to charge both the "starting" & "house" batts. Do I need to install a batt isolator to accomplish this?
Thanks
Chris
__________________

cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:58 PM   #2
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

are you replacing a charger??..if so then you should already have it wired up to the ac panel....which will have a 15A breaker assigned to the batt. chgr....

the wire from the ac panel to the chgr is in marine romex white in color....so...it should be just a simple matter of putting one wire from the old breaker to the new one...


SP
__________________

__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 05:56 PM   #3
cj
Lieutenant
 
cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

....yes the boat is wired for the AC into the charger, what I am talking about is the AC from the inverter/charger back to the panel. The inverter/charger has an AC in and AC out, as well as the DC hook up to the battery's. The Maxum wasn't designed or wired for an inverter so I will have to run new wires back to the panel, just not sure where to hook it up to?....or just use the GFI on the inverter with an extension cord, but I was hoping to hard wire it.
cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:10 PM   #4
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

ooboy...I've never done an inverter to batt charger back to panel before..I would have thought that would get tied into the main buss on the ac panel....


I'll do some checking...

SP
__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 04:52 PM   #5
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Last Mountain Lake, Saskatchewan
Posts: 101
Default

I am also installing an inverter. My concern with hardwiring to the main A/C panel is what happens when I plug in to shorepower. It seems to me that I should not have the inverter and shorepower connect at the same time.
ShoreAcres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 01:36 AM   #6
Commander
 
dronthelake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chatlotte, NC (Lake Norman)
Posts: 253
Default

Many of the inverters (cheaper models) have 60 VAC between ground and hot as well as 60 volts between neutral and ground (split voltage scheme). I am not an electrician but I would imagine that feeding 60 VAC though your boat's neutral (white) would be a potential shock hazard. Look through your manual for wording such as, "Do not connect any AC load that has its neutral conductor connected to ground to the XPower inverter.".
__________________
David & Carol
Charlotte, NC (Lake Norman)
3700 SCR "Comfortably Numb"
dronthelake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 11:07 AM   #7
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronthelake View Post
Many of the inverters (cheaper models) have 60 VAC between ground and hot as well as 60 volts between neutral and ground (split voltage scheme). I am not an electrician but I would imagine that feeding 60 VAC though your boat's neutral (white) would be a potential shock hazard. Look through your manual for wording such as, "Do not connect any AC load that has its neutral conductor connected to ground to the XPower inverter.".
I never realized this, thanks for point it out! It's a dangerous point, and I further wonder how it would affect galvanic issues on a boat?
__________________

__________________
My 1990 Maxum was sold today. I had it less than one year, but it was good to me!

Rich
ImRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.