Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2012, 07:28 PM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 48
Default GPS Unit dead

Out on the Bay on yesterday hanging out. When it was time to go, I somehow accidentally pulled the kill switch a little while hooking the chain to my belt loop. After 10 turns and finally figuring out why she wouldn't start, my GPS unit wouldn't work. Completely black screen. Marine radio, stereo and and all other electrical equipment works fine. Any ideas?
__________________

Thejanitor000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:13 AM   #2
Captain
 
pascavone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massapequa, New York, United States
Posts: 762
Default

fuse, the unit comes on with the key... usually.

could be an internal one as well.
__________________

pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:03 AM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pascavone View Post
fuse, the unit comes on with the key... usually.

could be an internal one as well.
Thanks. Do you know where the boats fuse box is (2300sc)? If that's not it, I guess I'll be taking the unit to a repair shop.
Thejanitor000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 04:18 AM   #4
Captain
 
pascavone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massapequa, New York, United States
Posts: 762
Default

since its and add on unit, its most likely has one of those inline snap together fuses that is hanging under your dash.

look for a non original wire, with a white inline fuse holder.

those kill switch can cause a power spike if the engine is killed and then flip on quickly and blow the fuse.
pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:31 AM   #5
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks. I'll make that my first look this weekend.
Thejanitor000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 04:59 PM   #6
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 48
Default

Hello all. Replaced the inline fuse and still nothing. Tested the plug and I'm still getting juice so it looks like the unit itself may be gone. Hoping to find somewhere to get the unit tested/checked out.
Thejanitor000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:24 PM   #7
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 48
Default

The unit is dead so I've bought another one. It has been suggested that I wire the new unit through one of the accessory switches rather than inline (the way it is now) to protect it from the power spikes when starting. It came on with the key before and I never had the opportunity to use the units power button. Obviously the inline fuse didn't help me last time around. Any thoughts?
Thejanitor000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:32 PM   #8
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 48
Default

This is insane. Bought another unit and plugged it in to test it (without starting). Everything worked fine. Unplugged it and went for a spin. Plugged the unit in about 20 minutes into the ride (while running) and nothing! Came back in, shut down the motor and tried plugging it in again and nothing! What the heck is going on here? I hope I haven't lost another one. I'm getting worried that I may have a bigger electrical problem here. Has anyone ever heard of this happening?
Thejanitor000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 02:23 AM   #9
Captain
 
pascavone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massapequa, New York, United States
Posts: 762
Default

your old was probably ok too.

Get a roll of wire from the auto parts store, and run a red positive wire right from your battery to your gps.

just string it over the deck, and then ground the black wire to the harness, and see what happens.

you have a interment short some where, and its grounds out.

see if the GPS works on the temporary direct power wire from the battery.

(i assume your not boating in the bermuda triangle....)
pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 10:17 PM   #10
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 48
Default

No I'm not in the triangle but it sure feels like it!

Just straight wired them both. The new one came right on but the old one did not. I guess the old one is really done. Going to rewire the new one through one of the accessory switches and find a better ground. Looks like that should do it......hopefully.
__________________

Thejanitor000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.