Old 07-17-2013, 12:51 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Gauge/Wiring Diagram Question 1996 Maxum 2300SR

Hi All,

I am a new boat owner '96 Maxum 2300SR with Merc Cruiser 7.4l, Bravo 3, however I have been using the boat I bought for the last 8 years. I purchased the boat from a friend who did little to no maintenance unless something broke but of course nothing did when he had it. I started the year out with great intentions and had a mechanic go through it prior to hitting the water but it has still been one thing after another.

I put the boat in a valet service in NH. The valet slip was supposed to be inside and covered. When I dropped the boat off it needed a new impeller pump. I had been on the boat when it started heating up so I pulled it out and trailered it to the marina. I left the boat uncovered because they were going to try and work on it that day, of course they didn't. Once they fixed the impeller they put the boat in an outside rack uncovered where it got rained on for two weeks. When I got the boat this weekend the glove box had about 2" of water in it.

While I was out on the water this weekend I tried using the cigarette lighter to power an air pump. After only a few seconds the pump died. I was able to plug my cell phone charger in and it appeared to be working so I assumed the pump to be broken. Shortly after this while underway I notiIced all of my gauges, (water temp, oil pressure, fuel) were all pinned to the right. I was able to check the manifolds and determine the cooling system appeared to be working and was able to motor to shore without a problem. Now that I think of it, I believe the volt gauge was showing normal, between 12-14v while the engine was running. I think the trim gauge may have been working correctly too but I am not positive of that at this point.

Has anyone seen any type of a similar problem, maybe due to water or a short?

Does anyone know where I can find any time of wiring diagram of how those gauges are wired?