Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2013, 12:43 AM   #1
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 111
Default FYI MERCRUISER GATEWAY FOR SMARTCRAFT ENGINES.....good news!!!!!

This is what i've been looking for for my boat, I have smartcraft compatible motors that now with this gateway nmea 2000 I can connect them to my raymarine c80 chartploter, this will give me all the info I need to know about the engines while underway... I will let you know fellow maxum owners how this works, I've been waiting for this for a while, I even considered installing the smartcraft display on my boat, No need for that anymore... I hope this helps other captains in this forum....
__________________

rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 12:38 AM   #2
Lt. JG
 
Painter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Posts: 46
Default

Hey Rodrigo you say your motors are smartcraft compatible. Are they hooked to standard gauges and throttles. I have an 04 3100 that is all manual but the motors are also labled as smartcraft. Will this allow me to connect to my Garmin with nmea 2000. Do you have any more info? I am going to start looking this up for myself this sounds great.
__________________

Painter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 04:28 PM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Painter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Posts: 46
Default

I have added some info for hose who are interested. It is the MULTI ENGINE N2K GATEWAY, Merc part # 84-8M0065208 this number is for multiple engines. Can be purchased fromVeradoClubParts (cheapest I have seen) $368 for both single engine or multi engine version. http://www.veradoclubparts.com/category_s/48.htm

Spec sheet http://www.brunswick-marine.com/medi...ll%20sheet.pdf

My understanding is that all MPI Mercruiser engines are Smartcraft capable. They started equipping in 2001.
There is not a lot of info out there, But if you search there are boaters using it now and working out bugs. Was launched in October of 2012.
If anyone finds info on a setup with Garmin can they pass the info along. I will continue looking for more info but I think it is great.
Painter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 07:27 PM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 111
Default

Hi Painter, I ordered the part for it, after I install it I will let you know how it works....wish me luck!, that is the part number, and thats about what i paid for it, if it works for raymarine it would definately work for garmin...
rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 01:19 PM   #5
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 111
Default

Painter this is diagram and all the parts you need to do it.... the only thing I need to figure it out is where the harness connect to the engine to transmit all this data to my Raymarine... i will let you know when I know...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Gateway with twin eng set up Revised.jpg (133.6 KB, 111 views)
rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:12 AM   #6
Lt. JG
 
Painter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Posts: 46
Default

Hi Rodrigo, where did you find that picture info? The wiring is updated from the info I have. Send some pics too when you get the install started. I'm going to start measuring cable lengths and put my list together so a can solidify pricing. Unfortunately I am in the midst of replacing both of my couplers right now. Just getting organized to start pulling out both engines as there is no room to replace while in the boat.
Keep me informed.
Painter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 10:46 AM   #7
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 111
Default

Hi Painter,
I got it from Mercruiser, I just have to figure it out to connect it to the engines since I could not find a connector on the engines, it sounds like a $600-700 project including all, worth it!. good luck with those couplers.
rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:44 PM   #8
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 111
Default

Here is an update on my project, I got most of the parts from mercury, I missing a couple of parts from Raymarine, so far I have installed all the mercury parts, once I have everything I will need to have a mercury dealer come out to the boat with the computer to label my port engine to "port", now both of them are starboard since I didnt have smartcraft gauges before.....here are some pictures of my progress.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg New Image.JPG (49.7 KB, 94 views)
File Type: jpg engine connect.JPG (53.1 KB, 91 views)
File Type: jpg can cable.JPG (49.6 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg j box.JPG (43.5 KB, 77 views)
File Type: jpg gateway.JPG (51.0 KB, 83 views)
rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:27 PM   #9
Lt. JG
 
Painter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Posts: 46
Default

Hey Rodrigo just wondering how the Gateway for Smartcraft is working out. What information are you able to recieve on your Raymarine?
Painter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 02:34 AM   #10
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 111
Default

Hi Painter, I did all the connections and I had a mercury dealer come out to the boat to label the engines, I get rpm's, alternator, and oil pressure right now, i ordered 2 harnesses that connect the fuel tank sending unit to the engine and this goes through nmea 2000 to the raymarine, the only disadvantage with this is that by connecting the engine to the tank this will make the analog fuel gauge not work, the solution to that is to add an other sending unit to the tanks, but I rather have the fuel level on my raymarine anyways, I figured it is more accurate.
I should also get fuel flow which is not showing on the display just yet, I'm not sure if it will while underway, I have not had the chance to go out on the boat yet, hopefully this weekend, I did call mercury on it and they are looking into it since this is one of the most important features that I wanted...by the way the support team at mercruiser are very helpful and willing to deal with you, even though my engines are out of warranty...(nice people), same with raymarine!
__________________

rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.