Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2011, 03:01 AM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oak Lawn, Illinois, United States
Posts: 9
Default Electrical outlet tv

I have a house style outlet on the top of my galley and I want to put a tv in it could I buy a regular tv? thanks mike
__________________

Ibassez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 04:19 AM   #2
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

sure you can.....but...here's the kicker...if your new flat screen tv has one of those stepdown transformers type bricks....read the output of the brick...if (and I think they all operate on the same size)...it reads 12vdc....you can just plug or tap into the house batt. system...


SP
__________________

__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 02:32 AM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Marin County, California
Posts: 26
Default

I have a 2400 SCR and installed the TV off the 12 volt light circuit. Model is NAXA NX-555 with DVD. Great TV and minimal draw
off the batteries.
Calguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 04:05 AM   #4
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 1,894
Default

Food for thought.........it you go the electric outlet 110 way instead of 12V with your TV and DVD, pickup an electical plug-in that goes from 2 outlets to 6 that also has a surge protector built into it.
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 03:53 PM   #5
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oak Lawn, Illinois, United States
Posts: 9
Default

ok thanks for the info i will not buy a house TV but a 12 volt tv. i will just need to find a place to split the power. I cant do the light because i will only be able to turn the TV on when the light is on
Ibassez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.