Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2008, 06:13 PM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56
Default blower

Hi,my blower keeps blowing fuses when on for more than 30 secs, i have checked the wiring and everything is perfect, any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
'G'
grantnicol543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:31 PM   #2
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Notts UK
Posts: 186
Default

If its blowing fuses the motor must be tight or there is water in it or a bad negative somewhere are the wires all cool?
__________________

__________________
Gaz
Gazjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 08:26 PM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56
Default

the wires seem all good as far as i can see, it was only a 5amp fuse in the holder so i replaced it with another 5amp fuse, kinda thought that was quite a low rating fuse for something such as a blower???
__________________
'G'
grantnicol543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 10:03 PM   #4
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

you have a too small of a fuse...the amperage draw is something like 6.2 amps...you need a 10a fuse in there.....I just replaced my blower and that's what was on the box....
look at your model at a store and make sure the amperage load is....I think it's gonna say 6amps.....

SP
__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 10:06 PM   #5
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56
Default

i kinda thought that was a bit low, thank you this forum is sooo helpful, great job.
__________________
'G'
grantnicol543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 03:39 PM   #6
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lee's Summit, MO USA
Posts: 32
Default

My blower was doing the same thing in the early part of the summer.... I purchased a new blower and in the process of installing it, I found the blower had sucked up a small piece of plastic (part of an ice bag).... you might want to pull the ducting off one side and reach up inside to check... if that's not the case, they are cheap and easy to replace... hope this helps... Jeremy
jkcoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 03:40 PM   #7
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lee's Summit, MO USA
Posts: 32
Default

Also, per SeaPuppy's comment above, mine uses a 10A fuse... so that could be the issue also
jkcoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 03:46 PM   #8
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56
Default

thank you, will check that.
__________________

__________________
'G'
grantnicol543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
prime the head, faucets yippy1 Maxum Maintenance 5 08-10-2009 04:31 PM
ShamWoW Stressleave Maxum Owners General Discussions 1 06-22-2009 02:04 AM
Drive Ratio SilveradoSS Maxum Owners General Discussions 6 06-10-2009 10:52 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.