Old 09-06-2019, 02:03 AM   #1
Ensign

Angry Another bilge issue: integrated pump/switch

I have a 2004 SR2200 Maxum. Old but hey...it floats and when it runs, it's like a little Mustang! I'm a first time boat owner so bear with my lack of knowledge and less than perfect terminology...
So, the bilge pump is(was) located at the rear, in the low part of the engine compartment. A few weeks back the auto function stopped working so the only way to pump out rain water was to flip the toggle switch (its a simple on/off toggle). The first pump came I installed it just like the old one was wired..again no auto function..only worked when I flipped the switch. So, I blamed the unit...got a second one. uh...I'm no electrician but same thing. So I'm missing something here. The new pumps have exactly the same wires (black, brown and b/white). I've checked every fuse..all are good. I've checked the toggle switch pins..everything's good there.
So, any of you smarties want to chuckle as you type? lol. Feel free to be brutal...I'm a big boy....I'm guessing that this is gonna be a fun fest for you old salts....
Thanks,
Jim

HickoryJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 02:15 AM   #2
Admiral

If it has a float switch (which it should) it's either stuck or failed...

Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 11:38 AM   #3
Admiral

The auto function uses a float switch which is most likely bad but first verify it’s fuse isn’t blown as it uses a separate fuse than the helm switch.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 11:56 AM   #4
Captain

I'm no expert here either, but doesn't the pump need to be wired directly to the battery to work automatically? I have a separate red wire going to my battery labeled "bilge".
jrsick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 12:05 PM   #5
Ensign