Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2018, 02:00 PM   #1
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 128
Question Accessory circuit amperage rating

'99 3000 SCR.
Does anyone know the rating for the ACCY circuit?
Looked at the wiring diagram, but they failed to show the fuse box/breakers.

I know the rocker switch is rated 20amps@12vdc, but the wiring/breaker probably aren't that high.

Thanks,
John
__________________

jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 02:20 PM   #2
Commander
 
Gugi47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lancaster Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jparsons121 View Post
'99 3000 SCR.
Does anyone know the rating for the ACCY circuit?
Looked at the wiring diagram, but they failed to show the fuse box/breakers.

I know the rocker switch is rated 20amps@12vdc, but the wiring/breaker probably aren't that high.

Thanks,
John
For 20 Amps (12 vols only) up to 15 foot you should have 10 Gage wire. From 15 to 25 8 Gage, 25 to 40 6 Gage, from 40 to 60 4 Gage......
I hope this help.
__________________

__________________
If they respect you, respect them. If they disrespect you, still respect them. Do not allow the action of others to decrease your good manner, because you represent yourself not others.
-2001 Maxum 2100 SR2 Sport -1997 Regal 258 Commodore (Sold)
Gugi47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 03:10 PM   #3
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 128
Default

That does help. I’ll have to back into the capacity this will handle once I pull the breaker panel. I know it’s fed by a 8-10 gauge and the buss bars connect all of the breakers.
The wire size out of the breaker to the switch should be the smallest of the wires and will define the capacity. I looked at the breaker, but the sticker is worn and can’t see the size.

Thanks!
jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 03:19 PM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,439
Default

Roger has a 3000 so he may chime in with his knowledge.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 01:28 PM   #5
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,165
Default

How many devices are on the circuit? The incandescent lights burn 1 amp each. Count the number of lights, then round up to the closest fuse above that. 6 lights will draw 6 amps, so a 7.5 or 10 amp fuse would be the correct size.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 08:38 PM   #6
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 128
Default

This is the ACCY switch at the helm. Nothing OEM was connected.. Looking to rework the radar/chart plotter and depth finder to be on a switched 12v source.
I have an approximate idea of the total draw of these components, I'm asking what the capacity is to see if I need to run a set of relays to handle the load or direct wire thru the switch..

John
jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 11:51 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,439
Default

Can you trace the power wire on the switch back to the fuse panel to see what size fuse it has?
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.