Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2014, 11:42 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Default AC @ sea

Could it just be a simple flip of a switch? I am not receiving any A/C power to outlets once shore power is removed and engines are running. A/C voltmeter shows "0". I must admit that I have a lot to learn about this new addition to the toy box. OBTW, is there a specific owners manual for the 2004 3100 SE that someone may lead me to? All that came with this boat are two engine/stern drive maintenance manuals. Much appreciated in advance.
__________________

IveGotPlans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 12:14 AM   #2
Commander
 
oldno7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 361
Default

You'll need your generator running to get AC, it's a 120volt system.
__________________

oldno7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:51 AM   #3
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldno7 View Post
You'll need your generator running to get AC, it's a 120volt system.

+1 the engines have a 12 Volt DC power system only. The genny supplies 120V AC when away from the dock.


PS welcome aboard
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:37 PM   #4
Commander
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 328
Default

Some manuals can be found at http://www.maxumcustomercare.com/manuals_index.html
jamanati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 03:37 PM   #5
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Well whadaya know, the boat doesn't have a generator as the Broker's office claimed that it did. Bad business on their end and a shame on me for not looking. That id now in a little dispute considering the price I paid. To get away from additional gas usage and maintenance I have decided that I will install a 5000W inverter with 12ft 0-4 AWG cables to the house battery and get the unit away from the engine bay. For now I will just use a power strip for what I want to run. Perhaps during the winter I will wire it into the back of the circuit breaker panel.

Dave
IveGotPlans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 04:45 PM   #6
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,403
Default

Not sure what size house battery you have and what else besides the A/C you plan to run but I doubt you will get more than a couple hours before running the battery down. Your best bet may be get a generator, some folks use a portable one on the swim platform but this has it's own issues
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 05:30 PM   #7
Captain
 
Phillbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 855
Default

Or have the Broker install one at no cost since they lied to you.
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 05:53 PM   #8
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 1,894
Default

If that is in writing I would be talking to a lawyer.......yes sir!
__________________

biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.