Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 08:11 PM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Default 2002 2400SD VDO Cluster Not Working

Any help in this regard? My VDO cluster (gauges) started working intermittently last year (would power on and off at will) then eventually stopped working entirely. I've checked all the connections I can readily see and am not finding any faults, then I had the entire cluster sent off for bench testing and it worked fine, but still no power when back in boat ... I suspect I'm not the only one to experience this issue as my local dealer (former dealer of Maxum I should say) specifically asked if my model had the VDO cluster when I inquired about something else, so it's apparently a problem.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jim

chasyankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:23 PM   #2

seapuppy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681

welcome to the you have power to the engine too????....on the engine there is this humongus electrical harness connector...pull that apart from the female plug and check for corrosion....grease up with white lythium grease before reconnecting.....then check the big red button on the engine...make sure it's pushed in.....all the engine gauges come thru that stooopid connector for ease of engine pull.....that's about the only place that can cause gauge issues......

hope this helps..


Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 10:12 PM   #3

ss3964spd's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd

ALL the gauges start/stop at the same time Jim, or just one or two?

If it's all of them then there has to be either a common 12V or a common ground. The fuse block would be a good place to start looking. You might try sniffing the web for a wiring diagram.

ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.