Old 01-22-2011, 11:54 AM   #1
4js
Ensign

Default New memeber, and new owner of a 1997 Maxum 1900 SR

Hello to all. I just purchased a 1997 Maxum 1900 SR. It has the 135HP Mercruiser 3.0 engine.

I'd like any help/info that anyone can give on the reliability of this engine. Where I can manuals for it (I have searched on this forum already, nothing I could find).
Also would like to know what outdrive this setup has. It's a Mercruiser, but no idea if it's an alpha 1 or what generation it is.

What general maintenance/tuneup should I do before the maiden voyage? I'm very handy with anything mechanical, and can probably tackle most anything if I have a manual.
I'm very very new to boats. This is my first. Any help appreciated.

I posted this in the sports boat section, but since I'm not sure where these questions really belong, I'd like to post it here to.

Thanks,
JT

4js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:38 AM   #2
Admiral

JT
first off ..welcome to the zoo..secondly this probably could go in the general section which I will move too in a few minute....I'll leave a notice that it was moved...
finally...look on the stern swimstep of the boat on the stbd side...check out a stamped in number ..write that number down and contact USMARINE in the general forum in contacting maxum....
for your boat...since it's a 97 model yr..it's probably an alpha 1 gen 1 drive...so...the impeller probably needs to be changed out...do that about every yr...also change the oil in the drive and engine...for the drive oil there is a special thick 90 wt gear oil that smells to high heaven....that's how you can tell it's a drive oil.....
engine oil is standard 25-40 synthetic marine engine oil....I'd recommend staying with that oil unless you boat in the warmer waters ..in that case use std 30wt oil....
do a tune up with new plugs/points/distr. cap..rotor/ wires....clean the flame arrestor...clean and smear dielectric grease on the batt. terminals...