Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2017, 01:46 AM   #11
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: greenfield ma
Posts: 42
Default

It's not a good idea to change battery switch while engines are running. You could damage alternator. Unless you have a battery switch that is designed for switching will engines are running.
__________________

dave4boats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 05:30 PM   #12
Ensign
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Harrison Township, MI
Posts: 14
Default

I have discovered that the switches are wired much different than I expected. I have 3 batteries and I thought the 2 engine batteries were connected to the switch labeled Engine and the large battery was connected to the switch labeled House. What I discovered was that the large battery wasn't connected to either switch, it is connected to the inverter only which has it's own charger.

Difficult to see but I looked up at the back side of the switches from the engine room and I can see that the port engine battery is connected to the Engine switch and the starboard engine battery is connected to the House switch with a jumper in between. When I turn the Engine switch (port) to the 1 position I can only start the starboard engine, no other positions (both, 2 , off) do anything. And when I turn the House switch (starboard) I can only start the port engine. However, if I switch the House switch to Both, I can start both engines likely due to the jumper between the switches. The harnesses all appear to be factory installed and they can't be switched without cutting a bunch of ties and removing p-clips. Sorry this is so drawn out but I'm trying to make it clear. Thanks, Scott
__________________

blakels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 01:58 PM   #13
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 50
Default

Nothing really 'wrong' with the way Maxum did it from the factory, but it was not what I expected either.. I fully expected each of the switches (Off-1-2-Both) to be 'battery selectors. ie: Engine switch would point the load to 1-2- or Both. Not the case as you found..

General consensus at the time was that it was a cost savings decision, as to truly isolate the 'starting' and house circuits while maintaining a parallel option would require another switch (more cost)

It's on my project list to adjust the wiring to a more "normal" setup where the switches actually control battery selection for the load. I'm adding a dedicated house bank, so thats a good time for me to tackle it.
__________________

jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.