Old 11-12-2016, 09:53 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Looking at Maxums (SE/SCR)

Newbie here and seeking our first boat, a cabin cruiser pre-owned (budget friendly), and interested in the Maxum brand as they seem to be good value for the quality and space (probably because Brunswick dropped the brand?). We have a very local marina nearby that we would keep at slip and are looking at circa 2004 in the 27 ft range. (Seems to be some discrepancy as to when the SCR dropped and became SE), but I digress. Being new to boating we like the cabin cruiser in our Mid-Atlantic area as we can overnight to some interesting places. How important is a generator/genset in the 2700 / 3100? We've talked to a lot of people and they say your first boat won't be your last boat and that you probably won't have it for more than a couple years so get something and decide what you like and don't like. For us, the wide beam and well thought out cockpit and berths seem great on the Maxum vs Sea Ray and others. Any hesitation from current owners on the circa 2004 holding up? I know we need to invest in a survey pre-purchase but general feeling about these boats would be nice to know before we jump in! Thanks!

Lewlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 11:31 AM   #2
Captain

Welcome. Where in the mid Atlantic?
I grew up boating without a generator and did most of this first season with my 3200 without it working. It's definitely not a necessity, and actually one less thing to worry about...!

speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 11:51 AM   #3
Ensign

Alexandria, VA. For a first-time novice, you are probably giving good guidance that it is one less thing to worry about..
Lewlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 01:13 PM   #4
Captain

I'm down in Norfolk. I'm sure all the marinas you would visit up there have shore power.
speedysprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 04:05 PM   #5
Admiral