Old 06-14-2016, 01:59 AM   #1
Ensign

Default First Boat Maxum 1600?

What's up guys, I am a new owner to a 1990 Maxum boat! This is my first ever boat and I am a pretty big noob to boats but I have been reading up and researching. I bought the boat from a family friend for $1500, the motor is a force 50hp and has been upkept pretty well from shop records. I tested the boat out and it did fine on the lake so I bought it on a wim. I am extremely excited to make this my new project and have lots of questions and ideas!
The boat does need some tlc but I gave it a good wash and cleaned the carpet. I also fixed the wiring and the radio, depth finder, and every light on the rig works! My only issue was the rotting deck, there was a hole upfront that I patched with marine plywood and sealed with epoxy. But I do have some questions, the stringers on the bottom under where I patched the hole weren't necessarily rotten.. But not in place? As in I could pull them out and not connected to the hull, is this okay? And there was no foam in the front, but that is all I pulled up of the deck is this normal? The boat does sit very far down in the front when I test drove it and leans to the left some with level weight distribution in the boat, I'm thinking the foam is wet but the rest of the deck is fine no soft spots so I don't know. I know I have a lot of questions but honestly I know barely any about boats but took the deal on sort of a project.
Any info on frequent issues with the 1600 xr would be awesome! Thank yall, and cant wait to get this thing in perfect shape!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0725(1).jpg   IMG_0726(1).jpg   IMG_0727(1).jpg   IMG_0729(1).jpg   IMG_0731(1).jpg  

IMG_0741(1).jpg   IMG_0753(1).jpg   IMG_0762(1).jpg   IMG_0764(1).jpg  

dustincraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 02:17 AM   #2
Admiral

Welcome aboard