Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum Community > Welcome Mat | New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-02-2016, 01:16 PM   #1
Ensign

Question 2300SC cuddy project.

Hello everyone I'm Jeff and I've been working on my 2300Sc for about 5 years now! I bought it on ebay not fully checking it out 100% very spontaneously for $4500 bucks with the 7.4 Bravo 3 outdrive. I soon found out the entire transom area was rotten and waterlogged so I went to work on that GIANT of a job and finally completed it after about a year. Had to tear out everything down to the gelcoat and re-cut the transom hole and the whole nine yards. Turned out real nice ( I sometimes go overkill on a job it's real strong now). 2nd came the engine which was shot (of course that was yanked when I did the transomn job), piece by piece part by part I completely overhauled the engine beatifully with a nice msd ignition system in it, stainless Hardin Marine raw water pump and a set of corsa captains call exausts not yet installed. This took me about three years of saving and working on the project to get this far. Oh I also had to buy a new bravo 3 transom unit also. My buddy Joe who has been a lifelong friend since fifth grade and my little league baseball coach back in the day had been helping me with a lot of the engine work that being a mechanic by trade. So I have the boat at my house on the side yard and I had the engine back and forth from my place to joe's auto shop and warehouse breacking it in. Well one day we transported the engine by u haul trailer to Joes place and I bulit a wooden engine stand with wheels on it that made it really top heavy. Joe was ahead of me in the u haul and usually we both rolled it off the trailer. This one day Joe attempted to wheel it off himself and yes you guessed it , a wheel on the engine stand got stuck in a groove on the ramp and Joe could't hold it and WHAM smack down on the crank on the